Call us on » (+94 ) 11 2177002

UNESCO assists to make the South Asian Teacher Development Center situated at Meepe to be a Central Teacher Training Institution in the region

Thursday, 23 June 2016 06:54

A meeting between the Minister of Education Akila Viraj Kariyawasamand Mr. Shigoru Aoyagi the UNESCO representative, the Director of UNESCO New Delhi Zonal Office

was held at the ministry of education on 16.06.2016.

The discussions were held at this occasion on the long term plans that should be done in the field of education looking at the future till 2030 and to suite for that and also considering the innovations necessary for the field of education to be successful in the modern world.

Mr. Shigoru Aoyagi appreciated the dedication and the political leadership provided by the Minister of Education Akila Viraj Kariyawasam making several changes to achieve future targets in the field of education in this country. The teacher training programs conducted by the Ministry of Education were also discussed at this occasion and the UNESCO representative Mr. Shigoru Aoyagi also agreed to provide assistance of the UNESCO to make the South Asian Teacher Development Center situated at Meepe to be a strongest central institution in the region.

A gathering including the Secretary General of The Sri Lanka National Commission of UNESCO Ms. Dhammika Wijesingha, Program Specialist of the cultural section of the UNESCO New Delhi Office Ms. Moe Chiba and the Sri Lankan representative at UNESCO New Delhi office Ms. Himali Jinadasa participated in this occasion.

Last modified on Thursday, 23 June 2016 07:04
Read 3795 times
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Contact Us

National Commission for UNESCO
5th floor
Ministry of Education
Sri Lanka.
Tel. (+94) 11 2177002/ 2177006
Fax. (+94) 11 2177007

About us

Sri Lanka National Commission for UNESCO (SLNCU) is the government arm of implementing UNESCO Agenda in Sri Lanka. This Commission established on 14th November 1949, comes under the Ministry of Education. There are 35 members in the General Assembly, including representatives of relevant ministries and national bodies concerned with UNESCO’s fields of competence.